Posted on

We are the crelp – from Candle Man 2…

…The creatures pulsed in the darkness, as if pondering their reply.

“We are the crelp,” one of them said. “Do not fighting with us – for we- we only wish to killing of you, as is our custom.’

The unearthly frankness of this left Theo stunned.

’Why do you want to kill me,’ he asked. The crelp seethed again, fluttering and squelching in the dark.

‘Because dead is better for us- for what we wanting to do,’ came a low, eerie reply.

Theo frowned as the circle of crelp seemed to edge nearer to him…

This extract from Candle Man two, introduces a new enemy for the Candle Man, the Crelp. These sinister, slurping creatures like collecting bones from graveyards and are charmingly frank about their evil.

I have always been fascinated by the power of frankness – the role of truth in our lives. We are taught to be honest, but it seems, more often than not, a well-intentioned lie is what society really prefers. Yes, I loved the photo of your dog you gave me for Christmas, no I don’t mind working late, of course your new bald look is stunning.

Honesty is highly prized, but as the wise man Nasrudin once said: ‘Haven’t you ever noticed it’s the scarcity of something that determines its value?’

One of my favourite blurters-out of frank remarks in literature, is Gollum in the Hobbit and Lord of the Rings. It is compulsive reading, the way he speaks aloud his thoughts and sometimes vile  intentions, in frank discussions – with himself.

In a way, Gollum is a kind of inside-out person, because he externalises the things he should keep hidden. This in a sense makes him quite a modern character, a paranoid, nervous, self-questioning figure, and these modern qualities make him stand out vividly against a backdrop of more conventional. noble souls.

Among the people of Middle-earth, he is more, dare I say, it, like us, than many of the good characters are.

In Candle Man two my new creations, the crelp follow a slightly different  line – they blurt out  vile thoughts but to people’s faces.

… “So what are you doing here?” Theo asked. ‘Creeping around attacking people. You won’t make many friends that way.’

There was almost something childish about the crelp that made Theo want to scold them.

‘The crelp don’t wanting to make friends,’ one of the creatures hissed. ‘We are only being here because we were released from the darkness.’

‘Released?’ Theo echoed. ‘How? By who?’

The crelp bubbled and hissed for a while among themselves. ‘It is not worthy – worthwhile – crelp telling you. We will probably tricking you soon and make you die. It is better..!’

It’s a special day for me today with Candle Man two , The Society of Dread coming out in the USA, and a chance for me to further explore my own nether-world of smoglodytes, garghouls and now, the crelp.I would like to tell you more, but unlike the crelp, authors have to keep their secrets…

About Glenn Dakin

Glenn Dakin is a writer, cartoonist and editor. He is author of the Candle Man series of fantasy novels for Egmont. His best-known comics are Abe - an autobiographical strip (Top Shelf);Temptation (Penguin Books and Active Images); Spider-Man heroes and Villains (Eaglemoss);the Rockpool Files (With Phil Elliott, Slave Labor/Marvel UK); Robot Crusoe (Funday TImes); Plasmer (Marvel UK); Clan Destine (Marvel USA).

13 responses to “We are the crelp – from Candle Man 2…

  1. Alan

    Good luck, dude!! I reckon Book Two’s even better than the first…

  2. John Titor ⋅

    A terrific read and a worthy sequel, proving the ‘Empire Strikes Back’ theory that sometimes sequels can be even better than the original.

    Personally though, I reckon Book 3 trumps them both. Oops – but nobody’s supposed to know about that yet, are they..?

  3. Gareth Perry ⋅

    Enjoyed book 2, would love to see an artists impression of the crelp.

  4. Silk ⋅

    Book two was awesome! I feel like a kid again reading both 1 & 2. Initially I picked up Candleman book one for my brother to read, but I ended up reading it myself! I’m really interested in what Lord Gold is going to do…hmmm Good Luck with Book Three!

    ~A reader, highly anticipating Candleman’s return

  5. Puilam Cheng ⋅

    Is there an approximate finish date now? 😀

  6. Cheryl Dumler ⋅

    This is 2015 and I am unable to find Book 3 – where can I purchase it?

    • Hi Cheryl, there are no plans in place at the moment for publishing book 3. It is half-written, but I have had to move onto new projects, as the original publishing plan was put on hold, then abandoned. Now Egmont USA have ceased publishing their line of children’s books anyway, so it’s no good asking them. I am very keen to finish book three, and will put any news out through my website and facebook. I am working on new novels also, which I hope will appeal to you as much as Candle Man!

  7. Jonathan Mak ⋅

    Time has been going on- now it’s August 2016, I’m in excitement for book 3 of candle man. It was supposed to be out in 2012, and I heard that it is half written. Currently there isn’t much updates on the forthcoming sequel, but Is there a possibility of seeing book 3 in the following months or we have to wait till next year?

    • Hello Jonathan, thanks for your interest. There are no immediate plans for Candle Man 3. I am working on other books, with the aim to getting round to Candle Man 3 when I can interest a new publisher – and find time to write the third book! I really appreciate that you like the books, it’s always nice to hear from friends of the series. 🙂

Leave a Reply

