Posted on

An October Night

It rains half the night and

The blocked gutter keeps me awake

Water running through my head

Will people understand my book?

Why do things you write with a serious heart

Seem to turn into jokes later?

The world wants to laugh at you

Most particularly when you are being earnest

On a night like this I wonder

Will the smoglodytes catch Theo?

In fact the smogs have escaped from me

From the stereotype I wanted to give them

I wanted them to be a creeping mass,

A murk like tonight where there is no escape

From the running of the rain

But I came to see them closer –

See their faces and their hopes

It made you realise that every enemy

We have ever been told to fight

Has lovely children

And dads that smile when they get home

Today I’m back to work in London

Ready to lose myself in the city’s gloom

Like Skun

More later…

About Glenn Dakin

Glenn Dakin is a writer, cartoonist and editor. He is author of the Candle Man series of fantasy novels for Egmont. His best-known comics are Abe - an autobiographical strip (Top Shelf);Temptation (Penguin Books and Active Images); Spider-Man heroes and Villains (Eaglemoss);the Rockpool Files (With Phil Elliott, Slave Labor/Marvel UK); Robot Crusoe (Funday TImes); Plasmer (Marvel UK); Clan Destine (Marvel USA).

Leave a Reply

