Posted on

Liquid fairies

Dear Reader,

My old pal, Lomond Banks, (really the all-time great comic creator Eddie Campbell) tells me that people who blog because they have a book coming out are viewed with deep suspicion!  I would like to complain about this here and now. (I mean complain about this deep-held suspicion you all have – not the excellent Mr Banks). After all, what am I supposed to do, bury my book in the garden at midnight, change my name and run away to Zanzibar?

For Pete’s sake. I mean, who better than me to recommend a book I believe worthy of attention? It’s like saying that ‘Fairy Liquid’ should not tell you that their product is mild and green.

These people, obviously experts in liquidising fairies (or, perhaps a rogue group of fairies who use their magic power to make an unfairly supernatural-based cleaning product, thereby beating all human-made opposition) are in a better position to ascertain its strength (mild) and its colour (all right, all right), than anyone else. I am on their side, shoulder to shoulder (depending on their elfin size).

Be loud, be proud, and blog your book, me hearties. There’s a way out of this storm of suspicion yet – I’ve seen it in old maps, glimpsed in the writings of marooned mariners once a long ago.

By the way ‘mild’ is cool, but when is someone going to make a washing up liquid that is ‘possessed of a terrifying destructive power’? That might work.

Just a thought.

You take the high road, and I’ll take the low till next we meet….

About Glenn Dakin

Glenn Dakin is a writer, cartoonist and editor. He is author of the Candle Man series of fantasy novels for Egmont. His best-known comics are Abe - an autobiographical strip (Top Shelf);Temptation (Penguin Books and Active Images); Spider-Man heroes and Villains (Eaglemoss);the Rockpool Files (With Phil Elliott, Slave Labor/Marvel UK); Robot Crusoe (Funday TImes); Plasmer (Marvel UK); Clan Destine (Marvel USA).

4 responses to “Liquid fairies

  1. Papa Abraham ⋅

    I’m just here waiting for the Toot smurf to begin…

  2. Alan Cowsill ⋅

    Cool blog. Look forward to reading the book. And I really want some washing up liquid that is possessed of a terrifying destructive power!

    Thought about going to the San Diego Comic Con next summer to advertise your book there? There’s a big crossover between kid’s fantasy and the comic/fantasy world!

  3. Sara Ledwith ⋅

    When are we going to get liquid fairies then? Book 3?

  4. Regina Griffin ⋅

    Who indeed? You cannot leave something so important to the insufferable Society of Good Works…a bigger group of hypocrites I’ve never seen.

    A vigilant fan

Leave a Reply

